My AH-MAZING 4th of July

I hope everyone had a great Independent Day.

Mine was amazing.

It was my first full day off in almost two months. I slept in, which felt awesome. I meanered my way down to our pool and relaxed there for about 2 hours (with sunscreen and in the shade!).

My mom and I were invited to spend the 4th of July at the White House (along with about 350 other military members and their families). They let us in around 4. It was basically a big BBQ and cookout to show appreciation to our military and their families.

There were hot dogs, burgers, chicken, potato salad, cotton candy and ice cream. And it was all delicious. And on the South Lawn. It was kind of surreal.

The Marine Corp Band played most of the afternoon and night. And they are incredible. Not only do they play the normal “band” songs, but they had a jazz band and they played cover songs to country albums to boot. They were amazing.

We got to see the President and First Lady. He gave a quick 10 minutes speech honoring the different branches and our vets. Then he and the first lady met with those there for the next half hour. I missed it by about 5 minutes.

But what was the best news of the night and made it an amazing day? The musical performance for the night was BRAD PAISLEY!!!!

If you didn’t know this about me: I’m a HUGE country fan. And Brad Paisley is one of the top singers around. When I showed up for the day, I was just excited to be at the White House. But I got a free Brad Paisley concert too?!?! I almost had a stroke.

My mom and I staked out a place by the stage, about 5 feet from the mic. I was less than 5 feet from Brad Paisley. Not even kidding. When he started, I thought I’d have a heart attack. I had to stop myself from reaching out to touch him. It was one of the best experiances ever. And the fact it was free on the White House lawn just made it unbelievable.

He played all his good songs. Everyone sang along and he even gave away a guitar to a military member and his kids! He put on an awesome show and I’m pretty sure I took close to 100 pictures (I was a little excited).

Seeing him that close for free was well worth the 105+ heat index all day (I had salt stains on my shirt from sweating so much – the only other place I’ve seen that is marathon runners). It was so hot all day, even in the shade. I drank at least 3 bottles of water and had 2 popsicles. Nothing helped. But by the end of the night, I didn’t care (it was still 100+ heat index by 9pm).

It was one of the best Independence Days I’ve ever had. And the DC fireworks weren’t too shabby either. My mom and I already have a plan for watching them next year on the Mall.

How was your 4th?

Leave a Reply

