Some awesome news

I have some great news: I got into the online masters program I applied to.

This fall, I will officially be a student again. This time, for my MPS (Masters of Professional Studies) in Homeland Security.

Why would I subject myself to even MORE school after just finishing up at IU?

For one, I’m still in that college mode. I still know how to study, how to take notes, and how to knock out papers. I’m still ready and willing to learn and spend the time needed. And I’d rather do it now, instead of 5 or 10 years from now, when I have much more responsibility in life (like kids, work, etc.)

Secondly, while I do like my job, it’s not my lifelong career goal. Because of my military background, I really want to help out the government and military, ideally in the intelligence community. Hence the degree in Homeland Security.

And lastly, I have a limited amount of time to use my GI Bill, now that I’ve already started using it.

I’m really excited to start, but it also already starting to get stressed just thinking about it. I chose an online program so that it doesn’t interfere with my day job. But I know that I’ll be stressed the first month or two, but hopefully I’ll get into a routine that allows me to work AND study well.

But for now, all the prep just to register for classes is killing me! For my military education benefits, I have to apply online for my benefits (check), and turn in that information, plus some more to my school vet office. I also have to deal with an online Army system that is not the most user friendly in order to get additional benefits. I have to work with my unit, change information, get papers signed, upload even more papers, and then hopefully get approved for benefits.

I’ve finished my FAFSA (check), tried to contact my academic advisor (no check), and have to print off and send in my registration for classes (yes, send in physical papers for an online class). The only problem is that, for my program, I have to pay the cost up front (which I can’t afford – like any normal person). So it’s a lot of work and a lot of stress before classes start. But I also tend to stress myself out, so I just need to breath and know that it WILL come together.

Here’s to 2 more years of classes!

Leave a Reply

