Weekend wrap up

This weekend was my first free weekend in a while (where I’m not traveling).

I made it through my first week of work! I’ve learned a TON over just this week alone, and I think that’s why I was exhausted as soon as I got home Friday night. I could have crawled into bed by 7:30pm, but forced myself to stay up til at least 9 before crashing.

It was a rough night all around, obviously.

Saturday was for friends. My mom and I went to help out a family friends of ours who is packing up to move. They also have one year old twin boys, which makes doing anything difficult. So we went over to watch them for a while so they had some free time to pack and clean. Which is easy when the boys are just so cute.

We took them for a nice walk, since the day was beautiful. They were knocked out as soon as we started walking, so we stopped at a bench in a nearby park for a bit so they could nap a little longer.

Seriously, how cute is he?

My little one was still tired from his nap.

After feeding, changing and playing with them, we headed out for dinner at another friend’s house. Our friend and his fiance cooked out some delicious BBQ and burgers and we helped them taste test some signature drinks for their wedding this fall (yes, it was horrible *cue sarcasm*).

They had some delicious drinks, although my friend mixes them pretty strong. But I didn’t drive, so I didn’t see a problem.

We ended the night with some Cranium (the pictures blurry because I was pretty far along in my drinks…). I’ve never played before, but it was a lot of fun, even more so I think because we were drinking.

Sunday was, obviously, Mother’s Day. Since I’m a little short on cash until the end of the month, I decided to cook brunch for my mom instead of going out.

This brunch is brought to you by Pinterest. Seriously. I checked out the pins on my Food board and made some things I’ve been wanting to try.

I made a Nutella Cream Pie with a pecan crust. Unfortunately, following the recipe here for the crust gave me a salty crust that never actually set up like a crust should. So that was scrapped. But the mouse part of the recipe was delicious and was served alone. Still works.

I also made some Avocado, Cream Cheese and Salsa Puff Pastries. You can check out the photo in the link, because those looks WAY better than mine did. My grocery store didn’t have puff pastry, so I used phyllo dough. It did work out the same, but was a little harder to eat without making a mess. They may not have looked the best, but they still tasted good.

I also made some mini quiches with chicken and quinoa. The recipe called for different meat and veggies, but I used what was in my fridge, mainly chicken, mushrooms and tomatoes. My mom said that they were her favorite part of the meal. (Note to self: next time, spray the pan down before putting the quiches in).

My personal favorite was of course the most unhealthy: Cheesy Bacon Biscuit Pull-Aparts. They were super easy to make and delicious. I can’t help but love something with tons of cheese and bacon.

We had over another friend for brunch, ate, and talked.

The rest of the night was spent making food for lunch during the week. And watching some tv. Basically recovering from the weekend.

How was your weekend?

2 comments
  1. thanks for blogging about my puff pastry recipe and sorry your pics didn’t turn out to your liking, but as you said, they tasted good 🙂

    • They were delicious, they just didn’t look as pretty as yours 🙂

Leave a Reply

