Friday the 13th

It only makes sense that it’s Friday the 13th, because I have my military drill tonight and this weekend.

I know I complain about the Army a lot (even more outside of this blog). It’s a love/hate relationship.

I had to wear this harness when I was gunning so I wouldn’t fly out the truck (which I never did).

Things I love about the Army:

* they instilled TONS of self-confidence in me

* I have met some of my best friends in the Army

* I get to do some cool stuff, like driving giant trucks and shooting guns

…and climb mountains. For fun.

Things I hate about the Army:

* If you’ve ever worked with any government agency, you’ll know that the Army is SUPER inefficient

* I’ve worked with some of the most ignorant (ie. racist, bigoted) people and have tried to keep my mouth shut for the sake of teamwork

* Like private companies, the Army has leadership issues. Sometimes the best people are not the ones leading and got there merely because they knew someone or had been there the longest. But unlike private companies, these people cannot be fired and tend to keep gaining rank and leadership positions, despite their lack of ability. (This is not talking about a specific person, although I know many like this. This is an issue across the board.) And unlike a private company, I can’t quit if I disagree or can’t work with a superior. I just have to put up with it.

So, like I said, it’s a love/hate relationship. I’m on my 7th (and final!) year with the National Guard, and I have NO idea how people do 20+ years. They must have the patience of a saint or they can manage to work past the BS that goes on.

Don’t get me wrong: I’m extremely proud of my time in the Army. I’ve met amazing people who I know will be life-long friends. I’ve done things I’ve never dreamed of or thought I could do. I spent time overseas, dealing with constant stress and constant changes (but loved it most of the time). It has given me so much self-confidence and leadership experience that I would not have gotten any other way.

Some of my best friendships were made in the Army

But all good things must come to an end. And I look forward to February, when I can end this chapter and start the next one of my life (only 304 days, but who’s counting?).

In other awesome news, today is National Scrabble Day!!

So today I feel less guilty about playing Words with Friends (even if I have only ever won two games).

I hope everyone has a great weekend and a good Friday the 13th! I’ll be back Monday!

1 comment
  1. Jenny said:

    you won our game by default! i always forgot to play on facebook.

Leave a Reply

