Weekend wrap-up

This weekend was drill. And we went to qualify.

For those who aren’t in the military, to qualify means to shoot my weapon with some proficiency.

And for those who aren’t in the military, it sounds like fun. And if all it consisted of was going to a range with ammunition to shoot, it would be. Instead, you HAVE to zero your weapon first, which means getting it to hit where you’re aiming. This can be the most frustrating part of qualifying. You have to get so many shots within a small area or they wont let you move on, even if you are confident enough to qualify.

I spent about 3 hours at a the zero range. No, I’m not a bad shooter. I’m not an expert, but the whole zeroing experience is stressful and exhausting. After the first 18 rounds (and still not close enough to leave the range), I started to get pissed. Which is bad for shooting, which requires breathing, aim and trigger squeezing consistency. I started to shoot even worse, which just pissed me off more. At some point, I broke down from anger and had to take a break. After about a 10 minute break, I went back and zeroed in 6 shots. Even more frustrating.

I went to the qualification range, which consists of pop-up targets (which is exactly like it sounds – targets pop up when you shoot them). You get 40 rounds and need a minimum of 23 to qualify. I hit 26 on the first try and I was done. I spent maybe 15 minutes at the qualification range but 3 hours at the zero range. Frustrating. But I qualified.

No, that’s not how it’s supposed to be worn. But it’s borrowed and about 3 sizes too big for me.

Sunday morning was daylight savings, where we “sprung forward” and hour. Which only makes sense that I was at drill. If I’m going to lose sleep, then it might as well be at drill.

We drove back to our unit Sunday morning and finished  the necessary bits and pieces of administrative business before we could leave. Which put me at the interstate right as traffic started. Everyone who went out of the D.C. area for the weekend was coming back, and I was stuck in the middle of it. On a super busy, three-lane interstate, I was stuck in stop-and-go traffic. I almost got into an accident when someone slammed on their brakes and came to a dead stop in front of me. I had to pull off to the shoulder (along with three of the people behind me), in order to not ram the idiots in front of me.

No, I was not driving when I took this. I was stopped in traffic. I’m not crazy. People out here drive like idiots. I pay attention.

It was another weekend of drill down and only 9 drills and a two week AT period left. Not that I am counting down or anything.

What did you do this weekend?

Leave a Reply

