Something to look forward to

It was 65 degrees here today. In Northern Virginia. In February.

Apparently I should have moved out here sooner if I wanted to escape winter. It’s been glorious.

And while it has been amazing here for this time of year, I always like to have something to look forward to. In college, that was Spring Break. In the real world, it’s just called vacation.

I have officially booked my vacation that I can look forward to: a week long cruise to the Western Caribbean.

On my cruise last March for Spring Break

I’ve been on two cruises before, one being about a week long last year for Spring Break and one for 3 days the Spring Break before that. I’m so excited. I love cruises. And while they are known for newlyweds or retired couples, they are great for so many reasons:

1. I unpack once. And I have the same room for the whole week. I can get comfy for the week in the room.

2. Free food. Seriously. Multiple different restaurants serving everything from pizza, ice cream, sushi and four-star meals. All without having to worry about how much it’ll cost me at the end of the night.

3. Stress free travel. After I’m on the ship, I don’t have to worry about making it from this island to this island, driving, parking, gas, flights or anything. I can sit by the pool or on my balcony and enjoy my book or nap while the boat takes me from point A to point B.

4. Great locations. My cruise leaves from Tampa, Florida and makes its way to Cozumel, Belize, islands off Honduras, the Grand Caymans before going back to Tampa. I could never plan or afford a trip like that on my own, and it’s all planned for me.

For some people, a vacation is a chance to travel and be active. And sometimes, that’s just what I want (like canoeing, backpacking or camping). But sometimes I just want to sit and do nothing. I don’t want to think about a thing and just want to sit on a beach reading a book. And cruises fit that bill perfectly.

I want to go back to paradise 🙂

I LOVE cruises and I’m not afraid to say it! I love having something to look forward to and this vacation is much needed.

1 comment
  1. Jenny said:

    Cruises are amazing! I want to go on another one, so I decided to look up some week long ones. Small problem. All the cheap ones require that I somehow get myself to Florida, which therefore defeats the purpose of the cruise being cheap.

    Also, it was in the upper 70’s here today…again.

Leave a Reply

