My day out

Today a met a friend of mine for a nice day out in the area.

We started off with lunch at Sweetgreen, a salad place that makes amazing and delicious salads. I wanted to take a picture, but I ate half of it before I realized it. It was that good. I had the Guacamole Greens. The lime cilantro jalapeno vinaigrette was amazing. The avocado gave it a nice twist. I’m definitely going again.

After lunch (and after getting a little lost), we went to The Lyceum, Alexandria’s History Museum. For a city history museum, it was nice and well planned. Different time periods in the history of Alexandria were covered. There was a section covering pre-European times.

Early Alexandria included the opportunity to smell the tobacco grown in the area.

It moved to the War of 1812.

It also included World War I and II.

But the biggest section of the museum was dedicated to the Civil War. And since Virginia is technically the “South,” it was Confederate focused.

It was interesting to see if from the other side. If you’re from the “North,” (or anywhere not in the deep South), you tend to view the South as the trouble-makers and the North as the good-guy winners. Looking at it from a different point of view was interesting.

After the museum, we found one of the candy shops in Old Town Alexandria, The Sugar Cube. They had different candies, including old fashioned candy and truffles. The truffles were amazing! I bought one for myself (the New York Cheesecake Truffle), and a box of six for my mom. Mine was delicious and my mom agrees.

I’ve never been to the Torpedo Factory down by the marina in Alexandria, which is now an art factory. We spent a little time out by the marina.

Then we explored the shops inside.

It was a nice day out (and out of the house!) I can’t wait to explore more of Alexandria!

Leave a Reply

