2012 Goals

The new year is a time to start a new. Everyone has goals. And while, in theory, I could start these goals at anytime, the new year seems like a perfect time. Here are some of my goals for this coming year.

Races

Just a little muddy

My goal for races this year include the Super Spartan, a Tough Mudder and the Army 10 Miler. This past year, I ran IU’s Jill Behrman 5K, the Spartan Sprint and the Army 10 Miler. I want to push the mileage up a bit and actually train for these races, as compared to just hoping that my basic fitness would do. I ran the Army 10 Miler in just under 2 hours (1:53) and I’d like to make it in under 1:45 this year.

Workout

My first goal is to join a gym. That’s the easy part! I want to run at least 30 miles a month (only a mile a day!). I have much more general goals too. I want to work on toning up and getting stronger along with working on my endurance.

Travel

The Acropolis. I ❤ Greece.

I have a couple travel goals for this year. My dad and I are going to take a trip to Peru and Machu Picchu this summer. I want to visit a big city here on east coast that I haven’t been to (New York anyone?). And, more obviously, I want to explore DC! There is so much to do and see here that I want to wander and explore (and let you all in on it!)

Money

Finance wise, I want to be better than your normal college grad. I want to pay of my credit card debt first. I would also like to save at least $5000, for emergencies. I also want (and NEED) to figure out and organize my student loans, as I start paying them back in June (ugh!).

For Fun

Enjoying my chicken briani

I have to have some fun goals, right? One goal I’m looking forward to is knocking out at least 30 books this year. I was so busy with school homework and readings for class that I haven’t gotten to read a book for fun since the summer. And I love to read, so this is one that I see myself accomplishing. I love to eat and I love to cook. I want to try to cook some of my favorite types of food: Indian and Mexican. Tamales? Chicken Briani? I want to try, even if I fail! We’ll see how that goes. I also want to work on this blog! I want to be able to deliver interesting and relatively frequent posts. If there is anything you want to see or are interesting in (especially out here in DC), please let me know!

Here’s to 2012! Hope you have an amazing New Years Eve and a great New Years!

Leave a Reply

